'Reading a book is like re-writing it for yourself. You bring to a novel, anything you read, all your experience of the world. You bring your history and you read it in your own terms.'- Angela Carter

Friday, 24 February 2017

We're Going Through Changes...

Hello hello hello everyone. You may (or may not) have noticed that this blog has been looking a little bare these last two years, and in all honesty, it's in part to do with me, and in part to do with the changes in the blogging community. Since I last posted a life update, I have been lucky to have 3 different jobs in publishing, with the most recent starting on Monday, I've attended so many different music gigs, my first festival, lost my best friend and greatest dog known to man and fallen out of love with my blog... it's been pretty hectic. Be warned, this is going to be a long and rambling post.

Monday, 23 January 2017

BLOG TOUR: The Watcher - Ross Armstrong

Today on the blog, Ross Armstrong author of the psychological thriller The Watcher stops by to talk about 'viewers' and how Alfred Hitchcock influenced his work.

Monday, 16 January 2017

BLOG TOUR: Gilded Cage - Vic James

Today I have the wonderful Vic James on the blog talking about the location inspiration behind Gilded Cage, her debut novel and Wattpad sensation! Gilded Cage by Vic James is the first installment of the Dark Gifts Trilogy. It is published in paperback 26 January 2017 by Pan Macmillan £7.99

Friday, 4 November 2016

REVIEW: The Black Key - Amy Ewing

The Black Key (The Lone City, #3)Title: The Black Key
Author: Amy Ewing
Series: The Lone City #3
Publisher: Walker Books
Source: Review Copy
Publication Date: 6th October, 2016
Series Reviews: The Jewel, The White Rose



The third book in Amy Ewing's New York Times bestselling Lone City trilogy, The Black Key is perfect for fans of The Selection and Red Queen. Violet and the Society of the Black Key are preparing to launch an attack on the royalty, and Violet has a crucial role to play. She must lead the surrogates as they infiltrate the Auction and break down the walls of the Lone City. But with her sister, Hazel, imprisoned in the palace of the Lake, Violet is torn. In order to save her sister, she must abandon her cause and her friends and return to the Jewel.

Thursday, 3 November 2016

REVIEW: The White Rose - Amy Ewing

The White Rose (The Lone City, #2)Title: The White Rose
Author: Amy Ewing
Series: The Lone City #2
Publisher: Walker Books
Source: Review Copy
Publication Date: 1st October, 2015
Series Reviews: The Jewel 


Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Matched, this is the second book in the Lone City trilogy, following on from Amy Ewing's shocking and compelling debut novel, The Jewel. Violet, Ash and Raven have escaped the palace of the Duchess of the Lake, but Regimentals are hunting for them across the city. Nowhere is safe, and they are dependent on Lucien and his secret society for survival. If they can reach the safety of the White Rose then Violet may be able to help Lucien in his plan to rescue more surrogates. For one surrogate, however, it is already too late. Violet's best friend, Raven, is pregnant. And in the Jewel, surrogates cannot survive giving birth.

Monday, 17 October 2016

Discussion Post: Homeless


For those of you who have known me for a few years, you will know that I've been living in London for roughly two years. London is a vastly different world to anything that I was used to back in the Welsh Valleys, but I've slowly but surely started making this place my home. The differences in behaviour, in the culture, the lifestyle and the scenery were all completely overwhelming to me. I loved that shops were now open late and the ease of public transport, but hated the fact that everything was so completely jam packed with people. I think the one thing that really hits me the most about living in London though, is the sheer amount of homeless people and the class divide.

Tuesday, 20 September 2016

BLOG TOUR: Frost Like Night - Sara Raasch

Hi all! Today I'm taking part in the blog tour for Frost Like Night by Sara Raasch. Frost Like Night is the final book in the Snow Like Ashes trilogy and I'm so sad that it's ending! This has been one of my favourite series of the last few years and I'm so excited to see how it ends. Snow Like Ashes and Ice Like Fire blew me away and I can guarantee that the finale will be no different. Look out for my review coming up in future posts! Today I'll be sharing with you my favourite quotes from the series, ones which have really resonated with me and are so beautiful.